Geekum

A blog about computers and me (and then some)

The Innovision Website and NTH :)

This blog is not just another howto blog, but also my personal computer blog. The past few weeks have been very busy and interesting for me. Since the previous posts have all been guides, this time I’d like to share with you what geeky events have been going on in my life.🙂

My college holds an annual technical meet called ‘Innovision’. This year the meet will take place on the 17th and the 18th of this month. Innovision encompasses many interesting events cramped up into two days, vying for attention. The college launches a website alongside, to inform the interested participants about the events and to generate interest. This year, me and a few friends of mine got the chance to design the site. The experience of building the site was great. I made some new friends, learnt HTML, CSS, Flash, etc., and understood many little things that I couldn’t have learnt in the classroom. After almost two weeks of waiting, the site finally went online a couple of days ago. You can see the site in action at http://www.innovision.name. (Yea, yea, I know. “name”. We didn’t have a say in the matter. We didn’t pay for the domain) The site is written in HTML (plus CSS), and uses Flash heavily. There is a non flash version of the site too that you can see at http://www.innovision.name/about.html

The other important thing that I’ve been very busy in is developing software for the Network Treasure Hunt (NTH) event of Innovision 2011. The game is the computer version of our beloved childhood game of treasure hunt. The goal is to solve as many puzzles as possible and reach the farthest along the chain. One doesn’t need any special knowledge about computers to solve these puzzles. They only test how you apply whatever little knowledge you possess. We’ve written the interface and the programming in VB .Net and used Oracle 10g as the DBMS. This little project has also taught me a lot. It has introduced me to VB .Net, C# and the .Net platform in general. On one of these days I’ll share whatever interesting things that I’ve learnt (creating server/client applications in VB 2010😉 )
Okay then, that’s it. I better go and resume the work. Till then, Adiós🙂

Single Post Navigation

Say something

